National Board Certification

Maryland Incentives for National Board Certified Teachers 

  • Maryland offers an annual stipend for NBCTs employed in public schools
    • $2000 for NBCTs working in comprehensive needs schools
    • $1000 for NBCTs working in non-comprehensive needs schools
  •  Those who complete the NBC process are eligible for Continuing Professional Development Credits (CPDs), which may be used toward the renewal of the Maryland Educator Certificate
    • Individuals who complete the program but do not achieve certification are eligible for 3 CPDs
    • Individuals who achieve certification are eligible for 6 CPDs
  • NBCTs who present 12 semester hours of approved graduate course work may be eligible for a Maryland Advanced Professional Certificate (APC) 

Fee Support

  • Maryland provides partial fee support to initial and renewal candidates for National Board Certification who qualify for the Incentive Program for Certification (COMAR 13A.07.08). This program is dependent on appropriations by the Maryland General Assembly. 

  •  Candidates who would like to participate in the Incentive Program should contact their local school system to discuss the selection procedures and eligibility requirements. 

Program Deadlines

August 31st-      Local School Systems identify                                potential candidates 

November 30th- Eligible candidates notified by                                  the MSDE regarding their                                        approval status

December 31st- Candidates register and submit                              components on-line 

No late submissions will be accepted.

Please visit the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards website for further information regarding the process of certification. 

Local Candidate Support

Anne Arundel County Public Schools

Angela Reisler, NBCT
areisler@aacps.org

Baltimore County Public Schools
Carla Simons and Michelle Smith
csimons@bcps.org
ismith3@bcps.org

Carroll County Public Schools
Kelly Keith
Kmkeith@carrollk12.org 

Cecil County Public Schools
Rick Edwards
redwards@ccps.org

Charles County Public Schools
Lisa Wehausen and Mary Lee Sadler
lwehausen@ccboe.com
msadler@ccboe.com

Frederick County Public Schools
Sarah Ianacone
Sarah.Ianacone@fcps.org

Howard County Public Schools
Jennifer Hlavka, Support Program Coordinator 
jennifer_hlavka@hcpss.org
Doug Lea, NBCT Program Ambassador
Doug_lea@hcpss.org

Maryland State Education Association
Géraldine Duval
gduval@mseanea.org

Montgomery Country Public Schools
Jennifer Martin
jmartin@mceanea.org 

Prince George’s County Public Schools
Rainya P. Miller, NBCT
rmiller@pgcps.org

St. Mary’s County Public Schools
Rachel Sparks
rmsparks@smcps.org

Wicomico County Public Schools
Sherri Hynes
shynes@wcboe.org