Title I, Part A

​Title I, Part A is contained in the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), which was signed by President Obama on December 10, 2015. This legislation reauthorizes the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). Title I, Part A is a federal program that provides financial assistance to local school systems and schools with high percentages of poor children to support the academic achievement of disadvantaged students. All twenty-four local education agencies in Maryland receive Title I funds. These funds provide additional academic support and learning opportunities to help low-achieving children who attend Title I schools master challenging curricula and meet state standards. Title I funds support extra instruction in reading and mathematics, additional teachers, materials of instruction, as well as after-school and summer programs to extend and reinforce the regular school curriculum.

In Focus

2018-2019 Title I Application Documents

2018-2019 Title I Part A Application and Guidance Documents

2018-2019 Title I Part A Application Fiscal Tables

2017-2018 Title I Application Documents

Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

Every Student Succeeds Act (Federal link)

Maryland ESEA Flexibility
Maryland's Approved ESEA Flexibility Renewal Application
Priority, Focus and Reward Schools Descriptions
Maryland’s Priority and Focus School List for 2015-2016
Maryland’s Reward School List for 2014-2015
The Best Practices of Title I Superlative Highest Performing Reward Schools
Title I Superlative Reward Schools Videos


Dr. Marcia Sprankle, Director
Title I and School Improvement
Maryland State Department of Education
200 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201-2595

Title I Schools

Title I Coordinators 2017

Title I, Part A Administrative Meetings

Title I Structure for Technical Assistance by Regions (S.T.A.R)

Parent Notification Letter

The parent notification letter must be sent to parents/guardians annually for new and continuing ELs who participate in English language development programs, including ELs for whom services have been refused.