

Mohammed Choudhury

State Superintendent of Schools

TO: Members of the State Board of Education

Mohammed Choudhury, State Superintendent of Schools FROM:

DATE: June 27, 2023

SUBJECT: Recognition of Maryland's 2023 Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year

PURPOSE

The State Board and State Superintendent will recognize the 2023 Maryland Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year.

BACKGROUND OF THE PROGRAM

The Maryland Association of Elementary School Principals (MAESP) and the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP) in collaboration with the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) and National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) selects principals and assistant principals of the year to represent Maryland.

The principal of the year award winners at the elementary school-level that will be recognized include:

E. Rodney Walker (Anne Arundel County) was named the 2023 National Distinguished Elementary School Principal of the Year by the Maryland Association of Elementary School Principals (MAESP). Walker has served as Principal of Brooklyn Park Elementary School since 2015. Walker was instrumental in establishing a male mentoring group called "Boys of Distinction" with the purpose of supporting African American males to provide educational and experiential opportunities to close the achievement gap.

Heather Moraff (Howard County) was named the 2023 Outstanding Elementary School Assistant Principal of the Year by the Maryland Association of Elementary School Principals (MAESP). Moraff has served as Assistant Principal at Triadelphia Ridge Elementary School since 2015 and is in her 15th year as an educator in Howard County Public Schools. Moraff is a member of the Asian American Educators of Howard County, a mentor to new assistant principals, a past appointed member of the Equity Advisory Committee and a recent consultant to the Next Level Maryland Leadership Academy Assistant Principal cohort.

The principal of the year award winners at the secondary school-level that will be recognized include:

James Allrich (Montgomery County) was named 2023 Middle School Principal of the Year by the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP). Allrich has served in Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) for the past 21 years in various roles. He has served as a math teacher, a staff development teacher and administrator, and in 2015, he was appointed as Principal of Argyle Middle School. He serves on the Board of

Directors for the Montgomery County Association of Administrators and Principals (MCAAP), and he leads MCAAP's Middle School Principals Professional Learning Community. In 2019, he was named his district's English Language Development Principal of the Year, and in 2022, he was awarded the Dr. Edward Shirley Award for Excellence in Educational Administration and Supervision.

Dr. Kimberly Culbertson (Baltimore County) was named Maryland 2023 Secondary School Assistant Principal of the Year by the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP). Dr. Culbertson has served as the Assistant Principal at Towson High School for the past five years. She has been a member of the American Education Research Association, the Secondary Schools Administration Association of Baltimore County, and the Council of Administrative and Supervisory Employees (CASE) of Baltimore County Public Schools. Additionally, she is a member of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusiveness Committee. In the past year, Dr. Culbertson received her doctorate, participated in the Baltimore County aspiring principals' program and the Next Level Maryland Leadership Academy for aspiring principals.

ACTION

The State Board and State Superintendent will recognize each Principal of the Year with a State Board of Education Citation. A certificate of recognition will be presented, and a commemorative photo will be taken.