

то:	Members of the State Board of Education
FROM:	Carey M. Wright, Ed.D., State Superintendent of Schools
DATE:	May 21, 2024
SUBJECT:	Recognition of Maryland's 2024-2025 Teachers of the Year

Purpose

To recognize Maryland's newly named 2024-2025 local Teachers of the Year.

Background

For 34 years, Maryland has fully participated in the National Teacher of the Year Program, sponsored by the Council of Chief State School Officers, to showcase the teaching profession and the contributions of our outstanding teachers. These 24 educators were selected by their school systems for outstanding commitment to education, equity, and community leadership. The cohort represents grade levels from pre-kindergarten through high school and a variety of subjects including language arts, math, social studies, science, engineering, computer science, and visual arts. From this cohort, the Maryland Teacher of the Year will be selected and compete for the title of National Teacher of the Year.

The Maryland Teacher of the Year participates in numerous speaking engagements and professional development programs at state conferences, college graduations, ceremonies, and other events. Award recipients are also invited to be part of prestigious panels and education committees.

Local Education Agency	Teacher of the Year
Allegany Public County Schools	David Buskirk
Anne Arundel County Public Schools	Elizabeth Heist
Baltimore City Public Schools	Kat Locke-Jones
Baltimore County Public Schools	Stephanie Gerhold
Calvert County Public Schools	Meagan Jeffries
Caroline County Public Schools	Danielle Dennis
Carroll County Public Schools	Brian Thompson
Cecil County Public Schools	Brittany Rigdon
Charles County Public Schools	Joshua Clark
Dorchester County Public Schools	Katelyn Robinson
Frederick County Public Schools	lvette Vichot-Taboas
Garrett County Public Schools	Kaitlyn Bolyard
Harford County Public Schools	Erica Richardson
Howard County Public Schools	Jessica Nichols
Kent County Public Schools	Kaitlyn Wright
Montgomery County Public Schools	Melissa Porter Parks
Prince George's County Public Schools	Kathy Russell
Queen Anne's County Public Schools	Megan Borga
St. Mary's County Public Schools	Lauren Runkles
Somerset County Public Schools	Zachary Bartemy
Talbot County Public Schools	Jeremy Hillyard
Washington County Public Schools	Brittany Collins
Wicomico County Public Schools	Debbie Reynolds
Worcester County Public Schools	Gabrielle Remington

Action

The State Superintendent and State Board will recognize each Teacher of the Year with a State Board of Education Citation. An inscribed portfolio will be presented, and a commemorative photo will be taken.

Attachments

Teacher of the Year Bios