RESOLUTION OF THE MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Resolution 24-02

Honoring the Service of President Clarence C. Crawford and Approving His Designation as President Emeritus

WHEREAS, in special recognition of distinguished service to the State of Maryland, the Maryland State Board of Education, and the children of this State, the State Board wishes to acknowledge Clarence C. Crawford; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford served as President of the State Board with distinction from July 2020 through July 2024; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford led the State Board with clarity and steady guidance during the entirety of the COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent recovery; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford transformed the culture and functionality of the State Board by orienting the organization towards our North Star: Educating Children; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford oversaw the initial implementation of the landmark legislation, the Blueprint for Maryland's Future, and the adoption of the Maryland Transforms: MSDE and State Board Strategic Plan; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford guided the State Board through two superintendent transitions; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford served as a champion across Maryland for public education and presented an unwavering commitment to transformational change in every school in this State; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford has consistently demonstrated the highest levels of leadership in his role as President of the State Board, serving with honor, humility, and grace;

BE IT RESOLVED that the State Board designates Clarence C. Crawford as President Emeritus of the State Board for the remainder of his tenure;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the State Board extends its deepest appreciation to Clarence C. Crawford for his dedication and service to the children of Maryland, and to the people of this state; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution is held permanently in the minutes and records of this Board.

On this day, the 23rd of July, 2024.

Chuen-Chin Bianca Chang

<u>Monica Goldson</u> olda

Dr. Jama) Irma E. Johnson sor

Dan

Joan Mele-McCarthy

Samir Paul

Susan J. Getty

Nick Greer

Rachel McCusker

oshina Z. Michae

Joshua L. Michael

Abhiram Gaddam