TO: Members of the State Board of Education

FROM: Carey M. Wright, Ed.D., State Superintendent of Schools

esson

DATE: May 29, 2025

SUBJECT: Recognition of the 2024 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Purpose

The State Board of Education, along with State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Carey M. Wright, will recognize the 2024 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Background

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. Every year, the U.S. Department of Education seeks out and celebrates great American schools, demonstrating that all students can achieve high levels. The program began in 1982 and the first awards were given in 1983. Approximately 180 Maryland public schools have achieved National Blue Ribbon honors to date.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program has recognized the performance of more than 9,000 schools nationwide for academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. The coveted National Blue Ribbon School award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging academic content.

Executive Summary

In 2024, four Maryland public schools joined the prestigious group of National Blue Ribbon Schools:

- Chapel Hill Elementary School, Baltimore County Public Schools Nancy Hill, Principal
- Worthington Elementary School, Howard County Public School System Robert Bruce, Principal
- Bells Mill Elementary School, Montgomery County Public Schools Dr. Stacy L. Smith, Principal
- Woodfield Elementary, Montgomery County Public Schools Katherine Schwartz, Principal at time of nomination

Bells Mill Elementary also received Blue Ribbon School honors in 1988.

Action

The State Superintendent and State Board will recognize each Teacher of the Year with Superintendent and State Board of Education Citations. A commemorative photo will be taken.







Worthington Elementary

Howard County Public School System





Bells Mill Elementary

Montgomery County Public Schools





Woodfield Elementary

Montgomery County Public Schools





Chapel Hill Elementary

Baltimore County Public Schools





Congratulations to the 2024 award winners!

