Maryland Integrated Science Assessments (MISA)



Grade levels

5, 8, and high school

About the test

The Maryland Integrated Science Assessment is administered to all students in fifth grade, eighth grade, and high school every spring. The test was first administered in the 2016-17 school year for grades 5 and 8, replacing the former Maryland School Assessment (MSA) in science. The high school MISA began as a field test in the 2017-2018 school year.

Information about the grades 5 and 8 MISA

The test is made up of four “units.” In each of the first three units, students will read information about three separate phenomena and answer questions. One of those questions will be a constructed response question, and the other questions will be a combination of multiple choice, fill-in-the-blank, matching, and other technology-enabled item types.

  • Units 1–3
    • 3 tasks in each, which are based on scientific phenomena
      • 1 constructed response question for each task
      • 5 other types of questions for each task
  • Unit 4
  • 1 task similar to those in units 1–3
  • 1 extended task that may include a simulation

Information about the high school MISA

The High School Maryland Integrated Science Assessment (HS MISA) is the final assessment in a series of science assessments that a student will take aligned to the Next Generation Science Standards.  The HS MISA was field tested in the 2017-18 school year, replacing the HSA Biology assessment at the high school level.  The HS MISA will be given in January and May of each school year and in the 2019-2020 school year it will also be given in the summer.

The assessment consists of five sessions. In each of the sessions, students will read information about two separate phenomena and respond to items about each. One of those items will be a constructed response item and the other items will be a combination of selected response, fill-in-the-blank, matching, and other technology enhanced item types.

Each session will be administered for approximately 40 minutes. The assessment can be administered with a session given each day during a regular class period or multiple sessions can be administered in the same day.  Each school system has the flexibility to administer it in a manner which will have the least amount of disruption to the school day.

Sessions 1-5
– 2 item sets in each session, which are based on scientific phenomena
– 1 constructed response item for each set
– 5 other types of items for each set

Standards being assessed

Next Generation Science Standards
HS MISA StandardsPDF document

Accommodations information

MISA 5 and 8PDF document

Assessment results

To see how students performed on MISA go to

MISA Rubrics

MISA RubricsPDF document

Practice Tests

Grades 5 and 8
No username and password required. Click Practice Tests link.

High School MISA

2019 HS MISA Practice: Username = practicehsmisa ; Password = maryland
2019 HS MISA Accommodated: Username = ttspracticehsmisa; Password = maryland
2019 HS MISA ASL Practice: Username = aslpracticehsmisa; Password = maryland

Fall 2018 High School Released Items and Sample Student Responses

Fall 2018 HS MISA Released Items and Answer Key
Arctic Ice Released Item Set Constructed Response Anchor Papers
Earthquake Energy Released Item Set Constructed Response Anchor Papers

Spring 2019 High School Sample Items

Spring 2019 HS MISA Sample Items and Answer Key