Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement

​The Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement provides leadership, support, and technical assistance to local school systems to improve schools performance and foster the development, growth, and retention of effective leaders.


School Improvement:

The Maryland State Department of Education is dedicated to supporting a world-class educational system that prepares all students for college and career success.  The Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement was established to provide customized support aimed at raising the quality of education in schools.


Teacher and Principal Evaluation System:

The teacher and principal evaluation system aims to enhance and support the cadre of educators who make college and career readiness a reality for Maryland students. The Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement provides training, guidance, and support to local school systems in the implementation of fair and valid teacher and principal evaluations.


Effective Leaders:

Effective leaders are essential to school success. The Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement provides targeted professional learning experiences and resources designed to foster the growth of effective leaders.




Contact Information

Tiara Booker-Dwyer
Assistant State Superintendent
Division of College and Career Readiness
Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement
Maryland State Department of Education
200 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-2595
Office Phone: 410-767-3676
Email: tiara.booker-dwyer@maryland.gov


E. L. Mitzel, Jr., Executive Director
Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement
Division of Career and College Readiness
Maryland State Department of Education
200 W. Baltimore St., Baltimore, Md. 21201-2595
410-767-0348 (office)
edmund.mitzel@Maryland.gov

Team Members

Tiara Booker-Dwyer
Assistant State Superintendent
tiara.booker-dwyer@maryland.gov

Edmund Mitzel
Executive Director
edmund.mitzel@maryland.gov

Morrall Thompson
Coordinator of Systemic Improvement
morrall.thompson@maryland.gov

Laura Liccione
Coordinator of Academic Improvement laura.liccione@maryland.gov

Dr. Lori Ellis
Coordinator of Leadership Development
lori.ellis@maryland.gov

Dr. Mary Minter
School Leadership and Turnaround Support Specialist
mary.minter@maryland.gov


Dr. Felicia Lanham Tarason
School Leadership and Turnaround Support Specialist
felicia.lanhamtarason@maryland.gov

Tara Corona
Continuous Improvement Specialist
tara.corona@maryland.gov

Anders Alicea
Instructional Transformation Specialist
anders.alicea@maryland.gov

Dr. Katherine Stewart
Acting Coordinator of Data and Accountability
katherine.key@maryland.gov

Thomas Fingado
Leadership Effectiveness Consultant Thomas.Fingado@maryland.gov