Incentives for National Board Certified Teachers

Fee Support

The National Board Certification State and Local Incentive Program provides partial fee support to initial and renewal candidates for National Board Certification who qualify (COMAR 13A.07.08). This program is for teachers working in Maryland school districts and is dependent on appropriations by the Maryland General Assembly. 

  •  Candidates who would like to participate in the Incentive Program should contact their local school system to discuss the selection procedures and eligibility requirements. 
  • Maryland school districts may apply to participate between July 15, 2023, and October 5, 2023.

Program Deadlines

October 5thLocal School Systems identify potential candidates 
October 25th- Eligible candidates notified by the MSDE regarding their approval status
December 30th- Candidates select components on-line 

No late submissions will be accepted.

Please visit the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards website for further information regarding the process of certification. 

Continuing Professional Development Credits

  • Maryland certificate holders who complete the NBC process are eligible for Continuing Professional Development Credits (CPDs), which may be used toward the renewal of the Maryland Educator Certificate
    • Individuals who complete the program but do not achieve certification are eligible for 3 CPDs
    • Individuals who achieve certification are eligible for 6 CPDs
  • Certificate holders who are employed with a Maryland school district should contact their CPD liaison for more information
  • Certificate holders who are not employed should contact for more information. 


Melissa Chandler
Office: (410) 767-5654 

Local Candidate Support

Local Education Agency (LEA) contacts for the NBCT program:

Allegany County Public Schools
Glenn Rice
Anne Arundel County Public Schools
Susan Malone
Baltimore City Public Schools

Baltimore County Public Schools
Carla Simons and Elizabeth Berquist

Calvert County Public Schools

Caroline County Public Schools

Carroll County Public Schools
Kelly Keith

Cecil County Public Schools
Rick Edwards

Charles County Public Schools
Lisa Wehausen and Mary Lee Sadler

Dorchester County Public Schools
Jeff Grafton

Frederick County Public Schools
Amy Struntz
Dianne Thompson

Garrett County Public Schools
Jane Wildesen

Harford County Public Schools
Heather Kutcher

Howard County Public Schools
Jennifer Hlavka, Support Program Coordinator 
Doug Lea, NBCT Program Ambassador

Kent County Public Schools
Daniel Hushion

Maryland State Education Association
Géraldine Duval

Montgomery Country Public Schools
Karen Shilling

Prince George’s County Public Schools
Rainya P. Miller, NBCT

Queen Anne's County Public Schools
Sarah Hause

St. Mary’s County Public Schools
Denise Eichel

Somerset County Public Schools
Beth Whitelock

Western Maryland Coalition

Wicomico County Public Schools
Paige Larmore

Worcester County Public Schools
Amy Gallagher