The Maryland Seal Of Biliteracy

Maryland's Seal of Biliteracy

The Maryland Seal of Biliteracy is an award given by participating school systems that recognizes a student’s high level of proficiency in listening, speaking, reading and writing in one or more languages other than English.

Begun in California in 2011, the Seal of Biliteracy is now offered in 36 states and Washington, DC. Maryland’s Seal of Biliteracy Bill was signed into law in 2016.

The following school systems award the Maryland Seal of Biliteracy:
Allegany County
Anne Arundel County
Baltimore City
Baltimore County

Calvert County
Caroline County
Carroll County
Cecil County
Charles County
Frederick County
Harford County
Howard County
Kent County
Montgomery County
Prince George's County
Queen Anne's County
St. Mary's County
Talbot County
Washington County
Wicomico County
Worcester County


Susan C. Spinnato
Project Manager, Office of Teaching and Learning
Office: (410) 767-0349